Today is my birthday. Generally, I like to think that birthdays are celebrations--I try and stretch mine out for a week... OK, month. It's all in good fun, right?
Except today. Today sucked, with gusto.
It started at 6AM. I've been an on again, off again runner all summer long. And don't let me fool you by saying "runner." I run, but I'm certainly not qualifying for any races anytime soon. Even the short ones.
Anywho. Running. Woke up at 6, procrastinated a bit, went to the gym (Because of the rain. Let's just talk for a minute about how uncooperative the birthday weather was). Treadmill #1 didn't work quite right. Half my warm up, wasted on a treadmill that won't go past 2 mph. Treadmill #2 works... or so I think. I'm up to my brisk jog... and one shoe comes untied. How do you pause this thing? Um... you don't. You stop and start all over. Grrrr. Back up to my brisk jog, and guess what? Shoe #2 comes untied. As the hubs said, I felt like I was in kindergarten.
So by now I've stopped and started just enough to be slightly aggravated, and to consider the workout null. I didn't last long after that.
Quite frankly the rest of my morning wasn't bad, had I been able to get some work done. Yep, I have a million jobs on deck and nothing in the creative hopper. Oh, also? The toddler was home most the day. Oh, and also? The middle child had a half day, and a playdate coming over this afternoon. The toddler did not nap. The playdate was fine, but loud. Work didn't get done.
Dinner, I'm exhausted. Birthday dinner was Boston Market, because I'm creatively spent, and can't think of anything better. Plus, the mess is minimal. As a result, now I'm also thirsty.
Stress is like, completely building up throughout the day, I'm sad my day hasn't gone even remotely well, and I'm tired. God, I'm tired. I reach for a Mike's. Can't get the top off. Take out the stupid bottle opener, open the bottle, and of course, spill. Not a lot, but guess what was the straw that broke the came's back?
My swearing/slamming leads to fighting with hubs, kids. There's a lot of crying. Hubs' patience is lost. He's done. The kids are upset. I'm upset. Hubs is upset. I try to calm the kids down. Which is a joke, because I can't stop crying. Oh God, I hope their therapist is a good one.
Now I'm off to go apologize to at least the hubs, who I hope doesn't completely hate me for being an out of control ass. There will be more crying, on my end.
God, this birthday sucks.
Tuesday, October 5, 2010
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Have we hit the bottom yet?
So in case you haven't heard, we're renovating. Like, a huge addition. Like, we once owned a cape and now it's all, HOLY CRAP DID YOU SEE WHAT THE VALENTINOS DID TO THEIR HOUSE??!
And lest you think I'm bragging, there were 5 of us living in that cape. With one bathroom. Go ahead, do the math; I'll wait.
So, looooooooong-ass story short, this renovation has been a long time coming. Like years. So when the builder started two weeks ago, we were SOOOOOOO excited.
And that excitement lasted all of about 2 seconds. Because then, my friends, the rain came. And it wasn't like, a sprinkle here, a drizzle there; no, this is rain of--and I quote--"historic" proportions.
That's right, we take our roof off, and mother nature decides to open the floodgates. Awesome.
So, the rain is supposed to stop tonight--so they tell us. However, because clearly the fates have decided that this addition was just not meant to happen the easy way, guess who gets sick? Like, sicker than she's been in the past 3 years and oh my God all she wants is her bed?
Yup, that'd be me (like how I did that whole third person thing there?).
So let's recap: first the rain, now the flu.
Fortunately, Husband is in the running for all kinds of awesome-husband awards, and has taken charge with gusto. This morning, he even picked out the children's clothes. And from what I could see through my fever-induced hallucinations, I believe they matched.
Unfortunately, we're renovating. Which means that during the day, my bed is just plain inaccessible. At night, it's half in the living room.
Fortunately, Builder is super awesome and had his team work all day on Saturday to make sure we had a roof, for all this--unfortunately--rain.
Sigh. I'm hoping things can only look up. Right? RIGHT??!
And lest you think I'm bragging, there were 5 of us living in that cape. With one bathroom. Go ahead, do the math; I'll wait.
So, looooooooong-ass story short, this renovation has been a long time coming. Like years. So when the builder started two weeks ago, we were SOOOOOOO excited.
And that excitement lasted all of about 2 seconds. Because then, my friends, the rain came. And it wasn't like, a sprinkle here, a drizzle there; no, this is rain of--and I quote--"historic" proportions.
That's right, we take our roof off, and mother nature decides to open the floodgates. Awesome.
So, the rain is supposed to stop tonight--so they tell us. However, because clearly the fates have decided that this addition was just not meant to happen the easy way, guess who gets sick? Like, sicker than she's been in the past 3 years and oh my God all she wants is her bed?
Yup, that'd be me (like how I did that whole third person thing there?).
So let's recap: first the rain, now the flu.
Fortunately, Husband is in the running for all kinds of awesome-husband awards, and has taken charge with gusto. This morning, he even picked out the children's clothes. And from what I could see through my fever-induced hallucinations, I believe they matched.
Unfortunately, we're renovating. Which means that during the day, my bed is just plain inaccessible. At night, it's half in the living room.
Fortunately, Builder is super awesome and had his team work all day on Saturday to make sure we had a roof, for all this--unfortunately--rain.
Sigh. I'm hoping things can only look up. Right? RIGHT??!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)