Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Have we hit the bottom yet?

So in case you haven't heard, we're renovating. Like, a huge addition. Like, we once owned a cape and now it's all, HOLY CRAP DID YOU SEE WHAT THE VALENTINOS DID TO THEIR HOUSE??!

And lest you think I'm bragging, there were 5 of us living in that cape. With one bathroom. Go ahead, do the math; I'll wait.

So, looooooooong-ass story short, this renovation has been a long time coming. Like years. So when the builder started two weeks ago, we were SOOOOOOO excited.

And that excitement lasted all of about 2 seconds. Because then, my friends, the rain came. And it wasn't like, a sprinkle here, a drizzle there; no, this is rain of--and I quote--"historic" proportions.

That's right, we take our roof off, and mother nature decides to open the floodgates. Awesome.

So, the rain is supposed to stop tonight--so they tell us. However, because clearly the fates have decided that this addition was just not meant to happen the easy way, guess who gets sick? Like, sicker than she's been in the past 3 years and oh my God all she wants is her bed?

Yup, that'd be me (like how I did that whole third person thing there?).

So let's recap: first the rain, now the flu.

Fortunately, Husband is in the running for all kinds of awesome-husband awards, and has taken charge with gusto. This morning, he even picked out the children's clothes. And from what I could see through my fever-induced hallucinations, I believe they matched.

Unfortunately, we're renovating. Which means that during the day, my bed is just plain inaccessible. At night, it's half in the living room.

Fortunately, Builder is super awesome and had his team work all day on Saturday to make sure we had a roof, for all this--unfortunately--rain.

Sigh. I'm hoping things can only look up. Right? RIGHT??!

No comments:

Post a Comment